Research Team

Project Staff

Christian Smith

Dr. Christian Smith 

Co-Principal Investigator 
Professor of Sociology & Director, Center for the Study of Religion and Society, The University of Notre Dame 
Research Areas: religion in modernity, adolescents, evangelicalism, culture
chris.smith@nd.edu



Sara Skiles

Sara Skiles

Project Manager, Wave 4 
Specialty Area: manages the study through the University of Notre Dame 
sskiles@nd.edu



Rae Hoffman

Rae Hoffman 

Administrative Staff 
The University of Notre Dame 
Specialty Area: assists in managing the study through the Center for the Study of Religion & Society at the University of Notre Dame
rhoffma4@nd.edu

 

Project Co-Investigators

Lisa Pearce

Dr. Lisa Pearce 

Wave 3 Co-Investigator and Wave 2 Co-Principal Investigator 
Associate Professor of Sociology, The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill 
Research Areas: religion and family-related preferences and behaviors
ldpearce@email.unc.edu



Stephen Vaisey

Dr. Stephen Vaisey 

Associate Professor of Sociology, Duke University 
Research Areas: morality, culture and cognition, panel data
vaisey@berkeley.edu

 



Melinda Lundquist Denton

Dr. Melinda Lundquist Denton 

Wave 1 Project Manager 
Associate Professor of Sociology, University of Texas at San Antonio 
Research Areas: religion, family and adolescents
melinda.denton@utsa.edu


 

Research Associates

Kyle Longest

Dr. Kyle Longest 

Assistant Professor of Sociology, Furman University 
Research Areas: social psychology, adolescent development/life Course, culture, adolescent substance use
kyle.longest@furman.edu




David Sikkink

Dr. David Sikkink 

Associate Professor of Sociology, University of Notre Dame 
Research Areas: religion and education
dsikkink@nd.edu

 


Dr. Patricia Snell Herzog

patricia_snell_herzog

Assistant Professor of Sociology, University of Arkansas
Research Areas:  Community; Spatial Inequality; Voluntary Giving & Participation; Religion; Youth; Social Theory
herzog@uark.edu

 


 

Graduate Students

Jade Avelis
Shanna Corner
Hilary Davidson
Karen Hooge
Peter Ryan